This month we began a new mentoring program for our neighborhood teens at North City Church of Christ. Each week, the mentor and mentee have a Bible study together, and the mentee has a memory verse to learn. A couple of days ago, as I was preparing posters of each of the memory verses, this one got my attention:

Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand. –Ephesians 6:13

Stand your ground. I’ve heard that somewhere before. Right. Those recent laws that allow people to shoot potentially harmful people without consequence. So it struck me that this phrase “Stand Your Ground” was right there in my Bible. With some instructions on which weapons to use to stand my ground. Let’s see…


• Belt of Truth
• Breastplate of Righteousness
• Feet ready with the Gospel of Peace
• Shield of Faith
• Helmet of Salvation
• Sword of the Spirit (which is the word of God)

We live in an area where there is no shortage of crime. Just yesterday, an intruder broke our security door’s frame off the bricks of our garage, and stole a bike and lawnmower. We could literally get up in arms, and be ready to blow someone’s head off over a second-hand bike. And by our state’s laws, that would be completely justified. But what, then, would be our witness to the world? Our struggle isn’t against flesh and blood, but against rulers, authorities, dark powers, and evil forces. (Eph. 6:12)

When our stuff gets taken, it’s frustrating. Not only do we have to replace our mower, but we also have to hire a brick mason to fix our garage. But at the end of the day, it’s just stuff. So I will tighten up the laces on my peace sneakers, and shine my shield of faith, and know my strength is in the Lord, and his mighty power.