christianmelody

I am a St. Louisan, and along with many others, I watched with shock and horror the events that took place on Sunday night in Ferguson following a peaceful vigil for Michael Brown. Until approximately 2 am, I sat with my head in my hands in my living room, keeping one eye on the TV and one eye on social media.

The next few days I went to work, checking Facebook and Twitter during breaks, and later continued following these events from home in the evenings. Updates streamed non-stop with local and national news updates covering everything from peace vigils and clean-up days to pictures of people holding guns and challenging looters to come to them. However, the thing I saw the most from people all over political, racial, educational, and socioeconomic spectrums, was some form of the statement, “Looting and rioting doesn’t make things better.” Oftentimes, this statement appeared…

View original post 521 more words

