My name is Stephen. I moved into the Lotus House in early July. 

I first heard about the Lotus House from my friends Jordan and Alexis and Alex who used to live here. I had been reading, thinking, talking, and dreaming about intentional communities since my undergraduate days at Ozark Christian College. So when I heard about the Lotus house from these dear friends I was very excited. I heard stories about them making a home in the north city of Saint Louis—of the rhythms of prayer, fellowship, and service that marked the common life here. I knew that I wanted to learn more about this special place. So I visited the Lotus House on several occasions while I was living in Johnson City, Tennessee finishing my Master of Divinity at Emmanuel Christian Seminary. During these visits, I was blessed by the hospitality of these people and I was struck by their humble and gospel-centered lives. 

As I was nearing the completion of my studies at Emmanuel, I went into a time of discernment to see whether I should pursue additional studies in theology in order to serve the church through teaching. This process resulted in me applying to several different doctoral programs. I was thrilled when I received a generous offer of admission into the PhD program in historical theology from Saint Louis University. When I heard this news I immediately thought of my friends at the Lotus House. After calling them up and hearing that they had a space available, I began the process of joining the life here. 

Image
Candace made a cake with fruit and mint for my first community dinner! It was delicious! (photo credit to Thirza, with T-Rex giving moral support)

I have been so warmly received into this place that it is already beginning to feel like home to me. I am very grateful for the opportunity to join in the life of this community. I know that there are great things in store for this community as we seek to manifest the good work of Jesus in this place. I am excited to be a part of that mission!

During our weekly community dinner this past Tuesday, as I was doing the dishes with Jeremy, I was reminded of some lines from T.S. Eliot’s Choruses from the Rock. Quoting them seems a fitting way to conclude this post. 

Where the word is unspoken
We will build with new speech
There is work together
A Church for all
And a job for each
Every man to his work.

What life have you, if you have not life together?
There is not life that is not in community,
And no community not lived in praise of GOD.

